Lab news | 2011


Best poster award to Zahra

Mrs. Zahraa Al-Ahmady , one of our PhD students, won the best poster award with her ‘Engineering Lipids Vesicles withe Temperature Sensitive Peptide for Triggered Biomedical Applications’ poster during the School of Pharmacy Open Research Day on 29/09/2011.


Nanomedicine Lab obtains three different FP7 Marie Curie Actions

The Nanomedicine Lab obtained funding from three different FP7 Marie Curie Mobility Training Actions to execute 3 projects: The Marie Curie Post Doctoral Fellowship – NANONEUROHOP; The Industry – Academia Partnership (IAPP) NANORESISTANCE; and The Marie-Curie Initial Training Network (ITN) RADDEL.


Nanobiotechnology Seminar Series at Stanford School of Medicine

Professor Kostarelos is one of the few European researchers invited to give a seminar at the Stanford School of Medicine as part of their ”Nanobiotechnology Seminar Series 2011“. The seminar was titled: ‘How to Transform Novel Nanomaterials to Pharmacologically-relevant and Toxicologically-acceptable Tools: The Nanocarbon Paradigm’.


Ania talks at the European Polymer Congress

Dr Ania Servant was selected to give a talk during the 2011 European Polymer Congress that was held in Granada, Spain from 26 June to 01 July 2011.


Kostas on the Scientific Advisory Committee of NanoKorea 2011

Professor Kostarelos was invited to participate in the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Nano-Bio Fusion section of NanoKorea 2011, the 9th International Nanotech Exhibition in Korea that will take place in Seoul between 24-26 August 2011.


Cyrill is awarded EC Marie Curie Fellowship

Dr Cyrill Bussy has won a two year European Marie Curie Fellowship with the Nanomedicine Lab. Marie Curie Fellowships are considered some of the most competitive and prestigious individual fellowships in the European Union.


Bowen completes PhD studies

Dr. Bowen Tian successfully defended his PhD thesis titled “Liposome-QD Hybrids & the Development of Targeted Theranostic Modalities”. He is moving on to a postdoctoral position at the University of Nottingham.